Coming in from Chebeague at Daybreak, Watercolor, Robert Delaney, 2016

Coming in from Chebeague at Daybreak

“Coming in from Chebeague at Daybreak”
Watercolor and gouache on paper, 7×10
©Robert Delaney, 2016 | $125 (unframed)

Daybreak over Casco Bay

Daybreak Over Casco Bay, 2015; Acrylic on canvas, 18×24

I took this from one of my own photos – I was captivated by the amazing colors on the water at this time of morning (right before the sun came up over Chebeague Island). Interesting tidbit… I did an acrylic painting of the scene (shown to the right), which I call “Daybreak Over Casco Bay”, but decided to leave the boat out of the scene for that painting. Yet I kept obsessing over doing something with the boat. While I love the tranquility of the scene in the acrylic painting, there’s something compelling about the man in the motorboat slicing through that tranquility.

6 thoughts on “Coming in from Chebeague at Daybreak

  1. This is fantastic, Bob. Are you Monet, I had to go back and see. Yes, you have signed it. What a great painting. Please keep it up. You certainly have the innate talent for this. Very impressive, Bob.

  2. Thanks very much, Roger, for your glowing comment. I’m really enjoying the process of learning to paint. I feel really good about where I’m at with it, but there’s still plenty to learn. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

