The Monet Family in Their Garden at Argenteuil, 1874 by Édouard Manet, Oil on canvas

The Monet Family in Their Garden at Argenteuil, 1874

“The Monet Family in Their Garden at Argenteuil”, 1874
Édouard Manet (French, Paris 1832–1883)
Oil on canvas, 24 x 39-1/4″

I recently visited The Met while visiting family in New York City. Since I seldom make time to get there, I of course made a bee-line to my favorite part of the museum – the Impressionists. While I love soaking in the art, I’m bad about reading the descriptions and usually don’t bother (I know, I know). So it took my wife to point out the story attached to this particular painting – a story I’d never heard before. It blew my mind – three great artists hanging out together painting, particularly the part about Monet painting Manet while Manet was painting a scene with Monet in it (huh… that’s right). Reminds me of going out on photography meet-ups, where one of my favorite things to photograph is other photographers taking photos. Here’s the official description from The Met:

“In July and August 1874 Manet vacationed at his family’s house in Gennevilliers, just across the Seine from Monet at Argenteuil. The two painters saw each other often that summer, and on a number of occasions they were joined by Renoir. While Manet was painting this picture of Monet with his wife Camille and their son Jean, Monet painted Manet at his easel (location unknown). Renoir, who arrived just as Manet was beginning to work, borrowed paint, brushes, and canvas, positioned himself next to Manet, and painted Madame Monet and Her Son (National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C.).”

Check out the official page on The Met’s web site about this painting for more details and to download a high res image if you’d like (image is in the public domain):

At The Met: The Monet Family in Their Garden at Argenteuil, 1874

4 thoughts on “The Monet Family in Their Garden at Argenteuil, 1874

  1. I did a copy of a Monet painting while at RISD (museum workshop class) that was from Argenteuil! I gave it to my parents when I graduated, a thanks for all the $ they spent on my education.

  2. That was nice of you – I’ll bet it’s great! Does one of your siblings have it now? I did a copy of a Monet also – way back in the day and I gave it to an old friend of my grandparents. My recollection is that it came out pretty decent, but I’d sure love to get a look at it these days. But no clue where it ended up.

Leave a Reply

