Dinghy with Rope and Oarlock, Acrylic on panel, Robert Delaney

Dinghy with Rope and Oarlock

“Dinghy with Rope and Oarlock”
Acrylic on panel, 12×16
©Robert Delaney, 2015 | $375 (in silver wooden frame)

Yarmouth Town Landing, in Yarmouth, Maine is one of my favorite local spots. I love checking out all the boats and dinghies there. Older dinghies – like this one – tend to have a lot of character to them. Interesting bit about this painting is that I’m not actually a boat person (as in I don’t really know much about boats), so I struggled with the details of the oarlock because I realized I really didn’t understand how they worked. Some quick online research – looking at photos of them – cleared that up though. It made me realize that painting can be an educational process in that way.

2 thoughts on “Dinghy with Rope and Oarlock

  1. The detail showing the different surfaces is so intricate and well studied. Interesting about learning how the oarlock worked so you could paint it accurately…true about painting being an educational process.

Leave a Reply

